Was my first a ring of daisies or pop beads,

while I dreamed of being a princess?

Or was it a cross

meant to bless me in times of trouble?

 

The first I remember was a thin-chained

antique pendant with a sapphire chip.

It wasn’t mine yet,

but I coveted its sophistication and beauty.

 

My own first was an intersection of

old values and new love.

A marcasite cross

given by my first boyfriend.

 

Then there was the Indian hippie one,

outrageously priced and courageously unorthodox.

It gave me a new identity,

jangled me into my self.

 

No diamonds or pearls for me;

mine would be turquoise and amber.

Bold and beautiful,

searching for statement.

 

Now I own the antique pendant,

but covet the girl

who dreamed of princesses and outrageous selfhood,

while I ease myself into old-age wisdom.

 

by Lynn DiGiacomo

 

Leave a comment